Skip to content

January 31 – I Run With Patience

January 31, 2012

“For because he himself has suffered when tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.” – Hebrews 2:18 (ESV)

I may suffer or struggle and it may be difficult, but nothing is beyond winning the battle through Jesus.  Even Jesus suffered when he was tempted.  I recall when the Lord was tempted in the wilderness just following His baptism.  I remember the Garden of Gethsemane.  Jesus was, in fact, tempted in all areas just like me.  He knows, He understands!

“For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin.” – Hebrews 4:15 

I cannot believe the lie that just because I struggle with sin, I am in sin.  It is not true.  Struggling against sin does not mean I am displeasing God.  In fact, struggling against sin is one of the main evidences that I hate sin, and that I am truly a child of Him.  So, I will struggle, and I will continue to struggle.  I will stay in the fight and be victorious through the glorious power of our great and mighty God.  I have been promised His help!

“I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” – Philippians 4:13

A wholehearted Christian is someone who struggles against sin and then gains the victory through Christ who gives him strength.  I do struggle with sin…and then get the victory through faith.  The “struggle” of the Christian is not a vicious cycle of trying, then failing, trying, then failing, trying, then failing.  No, the struggle of my Christian walk imitates the Apostle Paul, where he said, “we faced trials far beyond our ability to endure” (2 Cor. 1:8); “God has delivered us and will continue to deliver us” (2 Cor. 1:10); “Now thanks be to God who always causes us to triumph in Christ” (2 Cor 2:14).

I have experienced the conviction that comes with my sins exposed before God.  I know what it means to have a new life.  I must not lose hope.  I must know with a heart of repentance and a humble submission to Him, the weight of my sin-debt can be relieved as I walk in obedience to His will.

“…let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us, Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith…”Heb 12:1-2

It start with my focus being on Jesus.  It ends with Him completing the work through me, in me, and upon me.  Thank you, Lord, for sanctifying me daily.  I long for the day of glorification when I get rid of this body and take on a new one, free from sin!

No comments yet

Leave a comment