Skip to content

April 3, 2013 – He Arose and I Can Too

April 3, 2013

“But ye are not in the flesh, but in the Spirit, if so be that the Spirit of God dwell in you. Now if any man have not the Spirit of Christ, he is none of his.” – Romans 8:9

He’s alive! He rose from the grave victorious over sin and the tomb! He’s alive.  He is alive today and He is alive in me as a believer.

What does that mean to me?  Does it have any significance to me today beyond the fact that He arose.   Does the awesomeness of this event mean anything to me today beyond recognizing the historical fact?   What part does this event play in my life today?  This same Spirit that raised Jesus from the grave is the same Spirit given to me as a Christian.

Jesus, following the resurrection, spent the next 40 days with His disciples, then just before He ascended, he told them to go to Jerusalem and wait there until they were “endued with power from above.”  This happened in Acts chapter 2 on the Day of Pentecost.  This single event confirmed everything for them.  They knew that He was alive.  Do I have this same confirmation and can I also know, beyond any doubt, that He is with me as He was with them?

The same Spirit that was active in the creation of this world; the same Spirit that was active in Jesus’ ministry; the same Spirit that was alive in the works of the disciples on the Day of Pentecost and throughout the New Testament; the same Spirit that inspired the writers of the Bible to put pen the God’s Word; this same Spirit that raised Jesus from the tomb is alive and well in the Church today.  The question is, “Am I listening to Him?”

Oh, too often, I am afraid I do not listen to him. I have been given the Spirit for many reasons, yet I do not listen to Him as I should.  Over the next few days, I will investigate this subject and challenge myself to walk after the SPirit more than I have in the past.  Come along and study this with me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

