Skip to content

2013 – February 14 – I Say He Is the Son of God

February 14, 2013

“He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” Simon Peter replied, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.” – Mat 16:15-16 (ESV)

Thoughts from a Bible discussion today…

Prior to this question, Jesus was teaching His disciples beware of the leaven of the Pharisees, but they didn’t get it.  He then told them that they had very little faith and went on to explain to them what He meant.  Then He asks this penetrating question.

This question was asked of His disciples, but still rings applicable today.  Who do I say that Jesus is?

I say He is the Son of God.  But what do I really mean?  I mean He is the power and the means for my salvation.  He is the power by which I can conquer sin in my life. He is the power whereby I can walk in the Spirit and in freedom. He is the Way, the Truth,
and the Life (John 14:6)  “…there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved” (Acts 4:12).

So if this is what I mean, then what is my response?  I will fully surrender to His will.  He is my Lord.  I am subject to Him (His
Lordship), therefore, I will obey him and allow Him to lead me.  If so, then nothing in the world – not possessions, not things, not entertainment, not even family will get in the way of my service to Him.  Lose the world, gain Heaven.

“Then Jesus told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.  For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.  For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul? Or what shall a man give in return for his soul?” – Mat 16:24-26

Is it possible for me to give enough for my soul?  No.  But Jesus did.  And I am called to give my everything.  All I can do is give all I have in service to Him.  I give up myself in exchange for my soul and my salvation, therefore, is up to You.  Thank you, Jesus.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

