Skip to content

April 4, 2013 – Receiving the Holy Spirit?

April 4, 2013

“If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children: how much more shall your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to them that ask him?”Luke 11:13

It is evident that the Holy Spirit is/was available to those who would ask.  Jesus said the Heavenly Father wants to give Him to me if I will but ask.  Have I asked?

I know that God’s Holy Spirit is present in the rebirth of each Christian, as is evident in the Bible.    

John 3:5-6  Jesus answered, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born of water and of the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God.  That which is born of the flesh is flesh; and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit.”

This verse tells me two things that are crucial to the doctrines of Christianity. One – I must be born of the water. Two –  I must be born of the Spirit.  There is no spiritual rebirth without the Holy Spirit.  This same Spirit that raised Jesus from the dead is the same Spirit that raises me up to walk in a new resurrected life for Him.  More on this later.

Peter told those on the Day of Pentecost that the Holy Spirit would be given to those who would obey the Gospel.

Act 2:38  “Then Peter said unto them, Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.”

I have not only gained salvation, I have been given the Holy Spirit. Why? For what purpose?  Am I responding to Him? I will discuss this more in the next few posts.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

