Skip to content

February 1 – A Life of Faith

February 1, 2012

“Know ye therefore that they which are of faith, the same are the children of Abraham.” Galatians 3:7

I am not made right before God through my own deeds or in the keeping of the law; only through faith (my reliance and trust I have in Him).  Through my faith comes my obedience to His Word.  Faith without obedience is much like an oxymoron, for I cannot have true faith without it, James teaches me.  But, obedience without faith (or without it being motivated by my faith) will do me no good either.  I might obey the Law (go through the actions of doing right), and still be found without faith, and lost.  The same is true of faith.  Faith is not simply a surface belief, but it is action.

True, Biblical faith requires a response (works, if you will).  Hebrews 11 is a great chapter to examine in light of faith vs. works.  Men and women of old showed their faith through their works, proving they were walking by faith.  Their deeds (works) were a natural result of their faith.  My faith will also show itself pure by my obedience.

There is a clear distinction drawn between being saved by my deeds, and being saved by my faith.  Again, my obedience will come naturally as a result of my faith.  The distinction is that God is not looking to my specific works to save me, else I would earn my way to Heaven.  If that were possible, at what point would I have done enough?  No, God is looking upon the faith I have in Him.  How much do I really trust Him?  James tells me that faith without works is dead.  So works are a part of my faith.  Works will naturally be a part of my submission to His will.  If I were saved by works alone, then I could be saved without believing in Him.  Ironically, there are those who believe all they have to do is to live a good life and do good for others.

“For when we were yet without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly.” – Romans 5:6 

When I was without strength (unable to help myself), Christ died for me, although I was living against Him.  Christ died for me while I was still a sinner.  I was not living right first, and then He saw my works, as if I deserved it, then He died.  No, He did not give His life for me because I had tried hard to live right, earning His grace.  If I were to have earned His grace, it would not be grace.

This does not, however, negate the importance of submission and simple obedience.  He leads, I submit.  He gives direction, I follow.  He commands, I willingly, out of a grateful heart for what He has done for me, obey.

Like these folks mentioned in Hebrews 11, by my faith, I am a child of Abraham, therefore, a child of God.

Life is so much better when I can let go of my strength, my desires, my will, and simply give it all over to Him.  He blesses me abundantly!

Leave a Reply

