Skip to content

January 30 – Stay In The Fight

January 30, 2012

“Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.  Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded.” – James 4:7-8

“Struggling with sin” is a phrase that is used rather lightly in many religious circles.  What does it mean to “struggle” with something?  The word “struggle” means to “fight against”; it means to “strive to not give in”.  Actual synonyms are: 1) to move violently 2) to thrash about 3) to resist 4) to fight back 5) to kick.

It does not mean or imply that when I am struggling with sin, I am on the losing side of the struggle.  And yet, many “Christians” when they say that they are struggling with sin, infer that they are committing sin(s) even while trying not to.  They seem to mean that they have struggled and then they were defeated by sin.  Perhaps the word “defeated” rather than “struggling” would be more accurately stated for some.  When I am struggling with sin, do I view it as actually defeat?  Is it something I must accept as a way of life?  Or is there really a way to overcome the sin problem?  I must admit, generally, I have not struggled so hard that I have suffered anything.  In fact, I give in too quickly!  The writer of Hebrews, chapter 12, verse 4, has strong admonition for us when he wrote:

“Ye have not yet resisted unto blood, striving against sin.”

For example, if I say I struggle with some particular sin issue, do I actually mean I fight against it a little, but end up giving in, and commit the sin again?  What if I say, “I’m trying not to sin,”  but in reality I feed my mind with rationalization and moral relativism that justifies this sin; I watch movies that promote it, and listen to music that exploits it?  Do I casually tolerate it in my workplace and in my culture?  Can I actually say that I am trying to overcome this sin?  Will God believe me when I say, “I tried?” 

I am not saying that as a Christian, I will have no struggles with temptation.  What I am saying is that when I am tempted, I must make sure that I am fully submitted to God.  When I am fully submitted to God, His Holy Spirit can work in my life to show His power and strength.  When this occurs, I am then able to resist the temptation.  It begins with submitting to God.  We are promised in 1 Cor 10:13:

“There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.”

I must resist the Devil.  I must struggle with sin.  I must stay in the fight against sin.  I must not give up!  I am promised help.  As I submit to God, he will provide the way out.  It becomes His fight, His battle.  When He is working in me, I can resist the devil.  He is the only one capable of winning the fight.  That is why I must humble myself, so the glory of God can be revealed.  Praise be to God for the power in my life that works through me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 25, 2012 8:08 pm

    “Put on the whole armour of God…. and having done all to stand”. You are standing only if you have been victorious. Eph 6th chapter
    Papa

Trackbacks

  1. Don’t Tolerate Temptation! Submit to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you. « bummyla

Leave a Reply

