Skip to content

August 9 – The Word Holds Me Accountable

August 9, 2012

“All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.” – 2 Tim. 3:16-17 (ESV)

Just as I am accountable to God directly, I am also accountable to His revealed Word, which I know as the Bible.  As discussed yesterday, God disciplines those who are His legitimate children.

1 Cor. 11:32 says but when we are judged by the Lord, we are disciplined so that we may not be condemned along with the world.” (ESV)

The purpose, Paul says, is so I would not be condemned with the world.  This tells me that if I am not being disciplined, I’m in trouble.  The same is true with the Word.

The Word carries the same authority as it is from God.  I am also corrected and rebuked by the Word; and the Word trains me to be righteous.  For what purpose?  The same: so that I might escape the punishment inflicted upon this world with its sin.  Is it important that I then listen to what God is saying in His Word and respond accordingly? Of course.

It is with a grateful heart that I receive the discipline, correction, and even the rebuking of the Word.  For without it, I would not know The Way.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

