Skip to content

August 8 – God Holds Me Accountable

August 8, 2012

“Therefore lift your drooping hands and strengthen your weak knees, and make straight paths for your feet, so that what is lame may not be put out of joint but rather be healed. – Heb. 12:12-13

The Lord has a very loving concern for my well-being.  He loves me; so much so, that He will not allow me to be left to my own devices, rather, He disciplines me regularly.  In Hebrews 12, the writer clearly tells me this.  Without His discipline (admonishment, correction and instruction), I will most certainly be lost.  Yet, why is it, that when His discipline comes upon me, I resist it, and refuse to listen or take it, and am willing to suffer the consequences?  God will discipline, but I am also accountable.

I am reminded here that the Lord disciplines those He loves, those who are His children.  I must not resist; I must not give up.  I must know it is for my own good.

“It hurts Him more than it does me” is a bit of a cliché today.  This puzzled me when I was a child.  But as a parent, this statement rings true.  It is especially true with the Lord, considering the pain He took on my behalf.  Oh, it hurt Him then, and it hurts Him again if I refuse to respond appropriately.

“… since they are crucifying once again the Son of God to their own harm and holding him up to contempt.” – Heb. 6:6

If I am not seeing discipline from the Lord, I’ve got a problem.  If I am not disciplined, I am an illegitimate chil­d and not a child of God.  His discipline causes me to live.  His discipline brings about righteousness and holi­ness in my life.  It may seem unpleasant at the time, but its product is peace and righteousness.

Thank you, Lord, for loving me so much that You would die for me; but also that you choose to live in me and daily create in me a new heart.  May I always be responsive to Your discipline and may You show yourself powerful through my weaknesses.

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Discipline « poems4him

Leave a Reply

