Skip to content

June 21 – Seven Deadly Sins: Lust

June 22, 2012

LUST

Defined, lust is a feeling of intense desire in the body. It is a powerful longing or craving.  The lust can take any form such as the lust for knowledge, the lust for sex or the lust for power; It could be the lust for food.  It is a powerful force producing intense wanting for an object, or even a circumstance fulfilling the desire.

This is what I am talking about when I say that Christianity calls me to a higher living.  Jesus said that I am not only guilty of adultery if I literally commit the act, I am guilty in God’s eyes for the same thing if I look on a woman to lust after her.  Listen to Jesus:

Mat 5:28  But I say unto you, That whosoever looketh on a woman to lust after her hath committed adultery with her already in his heart.

You see, it’s not only about committing a specific sin, but it is already a sin when it is in my heart.  James reminds me that lust, when conceived, will bring me into sin.  Sin, brings death to me.

Jas 1:15  Then when lust hath conceived, it bringeth forth sin: and sin, when it is finished, bringeth forth death.

And John tells me that lust is not of the Father, and it will be destroyed with the world at the end of time.

1Jn 2:16-17  For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.  And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth for ever.

Proverbs 6:27

“Can a man take fire to his bosom and his garments not be burned?”

Clearly, lust can lead me to eternal damnation.  May I seek Him for the strength to walk in an upright manner, honoring Him with my walk as a Christian.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

