Skip to content

June 15 – Seven Deadly Sins

June 15, 2012

Many of you may have heard of the seven deadly sins.  One of the earliest forms of this list of “sins” was originally written by a monk named Evagrius (4th century A.D.).  Evagrius described a small number of behavioral traits which he had noted were related to human difficulty and suffering.  Out of his list grew the descriptions know today as The Seven Deadly Sins.

Here is the list as commonly referred to today:  PRIDE, ENVY, WRATH, GLUTTONY, LUST, GREED, and SLOTH.

One thing to notice, first of all, is that not one of these listed are “sins” in the ordinary sense.  Usually when I think of a sin, I think of it as a specific sin, like lying, fornication, stealing, murder, etc.  Not one of these is a single act which anyone can “commit.”  They are traits. Most of us are accustomed to using the word “sin” to mean single actions.  If I tell a lie, steal a car, commit adultery, or blaspheme God, I sin.  It is when I actually commit something.  And, of course, it is true that it is a sin.

Before I go on, you might be thinking, didn’t this list come from the Bible? Aren’t there seven abominations mentioned in Proverbs?  This sounds so familiar.  Yes, there are seven abominations mentioned.  However, this list of abominations found in Proverbs 6 is not where the “seven deadly sins” list comes from.

“These six things doth the LORD hate: yea, seven are an abomination unto him:  A proud look, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood, An heart that deviseth wicked imaginations, feet that be swift in running to mischief, A false witness that speaketh lies, and he that soweth discord among brethren.” – Pro 6:16-19

A couple of these abominations are general in nature, but most are specific sins.  I bring this up just to compare; and a great sermon could be made talking on this passage.  But, I would like to suggest that this list of “the seven deadly sins” is perhaps a very legitimate consideration because of this:

First of all, the Bible does address these “sins,” just not in one place as a list.  Secondly, Christianity calls us to a higher calling than simply not committing specific sins.  Of course specific sins are wrong.  Of course they will escort us to Hell if we are not repentant of these acts.  However, Christ did, in fact call His disciples to a higher calling.

As I continue my thoughts in the coming days, we will begin to investigate each of these sins and see if they, in fact could be called “The Seven Deadly Sins.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: