Skip to content

May 29 – My Sins Have Hidden His Face From me

May 29, 2012

“Behold, the LORD’s hand is not shortened, that it cannot save, or his ear dull, that it cannot hear; but your iniquities have made a separation between you and your God, and your sins have hidden his face from you so that he does not hear.” – Isa 59:1-2

Because of man’s sin, he lost the relationship God had intended.  Did God make a mistake? No. God, in His loving mercy and kindness did not force Himself upon me.  He made me a spiritual being, one who will continue to live beyond the life of this physical body that houses me.  God intends for me to seek Him, find Him, and to be restored to a relationship that will carry me through eternity with Him.

The problem is, I have sin in my life.  This sin, according to Isaiah, separates me from my God.  I cannot enjoy a relationship with Him because of who He is.

He is holy.  He is pure.  He is Perfect.  He is just.  He is righteous, I am not.  Because He is righteous; because He is pure; because He is holy, He cannot and will not tolerate sin in His presence.  To do so would deny His very nature.  He is just.  In other words, He is fair in judgment.  He will punish sin and reward righteousness.  Because He is absolutely just in His judgment, He cannot permit sin in His presence.  Just as the sin of Adam and Eve had consequences (Rom. 6:23), so my sins must be paid for.  1 John 3:4 reveals to us what sin is… it is sin when we break God’s law.

In order to dwell in His presence, I must be righteous, pure, holy.  Yet, I cannot.  What am I to do?  How can I know I can go to Heaven when this body dies?  Stay with me as we dig a little deeper into this.  It is a matter of spiritual life or death.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

