Skip to content

May 27 – A Leper’s Story

May 27, 2012

“And, behold, there came a leper and worshipped him, saying, Lord, if thou wilt, thou canst make me clean.  And Jesus put forth his hand, and touched him, saying, I will; be thou clean. And immediately his leprosy was cleansed.” – Mat 8:2 

A song I’d like to share…

Verse 1

Listen to my story, I know it’s hard to believe:

About a man who healed me; set my body, oh, so free!

He told me not to say a word: it’s too much- I have to sing!

This man, whom they call Jesus, Jehovah God, my Lord and King!

Verse 2

I was working in the fields one day, my grip became so weak;

I started losing feeling in my hands and in my feet.

I couldn’t hide it any longer, I had to see the Priest;

In a just a matter of minutes, he pronounced, “You are unclean!”

Verse 3

In just an instant I realized the curse upon my head:

I’d lost my wife and family, my future, and my friends;

I raised my fists up to the sky, “Why me?, but no reply!”

Life as I knew it was over, then I heard somebody cry:

Chorus

Jesus, Son of God, Healer of the body, and Savior of my soul;

Je-sus, Son of God, He can heal and forgive: and He can make me whole.

Verse 4

I had to take a chance, I knew there was no other way,

The bell I wore around my neck kept everyone away;

The crowd of people yelled and screamed, “Beware, he is unclean!”

Though my eyes were full of tears, I could see the man from Galilee!”

Verse 5

While others tried to warn, I hurried on with my appeal;

I fell down and cried “Master!, I know that you can heal!”

He came near and touched me, first touch I’d felt in years;

He looked at me with such great love, He said, “I will, be healed!”

Chorus

Jesus, Son of God, Healer of the body, and Savior of my soul;

Jesus, Son of God, He can heal and forgive: and He has made me whole.

© 2000 by Leland Fleming

Has He made you whole?  He can…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

