Skip to content

May 16 – I Too Can Rise Again

May 16, 2012

“In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.”John 16:33

So what am I to make of the desert times and places in my life?   At the very least, maybe these barren and empty moments can be times of reflection upon David, Job and Jesus.  To remember what they went through, and the faithfulness of these men, I can be encouraged to get up and walk again.  Maybe from their times in the wilderness, I can be reminded that when I feel alone, God is with me.  Even when our Lord cried out when He suffered on my behalf, “Why have you forsaken me?”, I can recall that a short time later He rose from the dead.  I, too, because of Him, can rise again to walk a renewed life!

He reassured His disciples shortly before His resurrection:

“Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me.”John 14:1 

Even in the wilderness times of my life, I can trust Him to lead me all the way home!  May I never forget He has overcome this world, and offers His power in my life to also overcome it!

Here’s a song I wrote a few years back realizing how far away I had been from my God.  It has served to remind me of my place before God and to be grateful for His salvation in my life.

I’m A Broken Man (A Sinner’s Prayer)

I’ve had enough, I can’t go on like this any more,
I admit, my sin is great, my heart’s an open door;
I submit my stubborn heart to Your blessed Holy will,
I now commit my life to you, my Lord, I humbly kneel.

Chorus
Je-sus, I’m a broken man;
Je-sus, Let me feel Your love again.
As I cry for mercy, Lord, Come and cleanse my sinful heart,
Give me peace within my soul, Oh my Lord, I love you so!

Please accept my humble plea as I bend down on my knee
Before Your Holy presence, Lord, and Your Mercy Seat.
Wash my soul and cleanse my heart, make me pure within,
White as snow, may I know, That I’m free from my sin.

Repeat Chorus

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

