Skip to content

May 15 – Desert Times Make Me Stronger

May 15, 2012

“What man of you, having an hundred sheep, if he lose one of them, doth not leave the ninety and nine in the wilderness, and go after that which is lost, until he find it?  And when he hath found it, he layeth it on his shoulders, rejoicing.”Luk 15:4-5

What about Jesus?  I know He was perfect; so did He ever spend time in the wilderness?  Of course He did.  Did He do something to deserve it?  Did He find Himself in the wilderness because He did something wrong?  No, He went there to find some solace, to spend time in prayer with His Father.  At times it was to be tested by Satan, like Job.  He also experienced hunger and thirst; He experienced the feelings of our infirmities; He was tempted in all points, just like us, yet without sin.

“For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin.” – Heb 4:15

When I am in the wilderness, first of all, I must remember and have confidence that God is a loving God and cares for me.  He knows I am in the wilderness.  He is the Good Shepherd who will leave the 99 and search for me!  And.. that there is a purpose and a meaning, even if I can’t see it clearly now.

When I am in the wilderness and see God coming for me, I have the realization of hope.  And so it is, when I am experiencing these times, I must continue to look for Him; to look for answers – but answers that come from the Word of God.  It may be that I use that time to seek forgiveness; but when I leave the desert, I am stronger, strengthened by His Word.

Notice after His baptism, and after He was tempted by the devil, he left in the power of the Spirit.  Even Jesus, after spending time in the wilderness, left stronger.

“And Jesus returned in the power of the Spirit into Galilee: and there went out a fame of him through all the region round about.” Luke 4:14 

The same must be true with me.  It is where I make a connection with Jesus’ life.  Once I come out of the wilderness (for whatever reason) I come out stronger by the same power that made Jesus stronger.

Thank you Lord for giving me hope.  Thank you for allowing me to spend time in the desert where I can find restoration and refreshment in my soul.  May I learn the lessons I need, and may I always respond with more faith in your power and grace that You provide.

Leave a Reply

