Skip to content

May 13 – When Bad Things Happen, God Is Not Surprised

May 13, 2012

“And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience; And patience, experience; and experience, hope:  And hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.”Rom 5:3-5

Continuing from yesterday…

There’s a purpose in the wilderness.  I do not need to see the wilderness as only despair, but as the time and purpose of God to create in me a renewed heart.  The most important lessons I learn in life are most often learned in the desert:  from the earliest moments of discipline from my parents, to the discipline of the Lord as an adult Christian.

Look at these verses again and what some of these words mean…

Rom 5:3  And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation (suffering) worketh patience (endurance, or perseverance);

Rom 5:4  And patience, experience (character); and experience, hope:

Rom 5:5  And hope maketh not ashamed (does not disappoint us); because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.

I have, at times, acted like being a Christian means nothing bad will ever happen in my life again; that somehow, God will protect me from hurts and from the harm that would come my way.  It is as if Christianity is just one big picnic on a beautiful green lawn, where the flowers are in bloom and the butterflies flutter around a constant oasis of peace and joy.  Then, when something bad does happens, I am surprised.  I then think, “What did I do to deserve this?”

I must understand that God is in control.  I’ve got to understand that He allows these things in my life for my benefit.  It is not out of His control.  When these kinds of things happen in my life, God is not surprised.  There is a purpose in the wilderness.  Remember Job.  I’ve often heard the phrase, “The patience of Job.”  God not only knew of the problems that had come Job’s way, but He allowed it.  Job didn’t know why.  His friends didn’t understand it.  But God did.  That’s much of what we read about in Job is his learning to deal with the issues.  It was for a purpose.  But in the middle of the trials he was screaming, “Why me?”  He was mad.  And I’ve done the same thing.

Tomorrow I’ll take a closer look at Job and what I can learn from him.  Stay with me!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    June 3, 2012 8:07 am

    Thank you my Elder, I needed these “Wilderness” thoughts. Papa

Leave a Reply

