Skip to content

May 11 – I Will Embrace The Work In The Wilderness

May 11, 2012

“And I said, Oh that I had wings like a dove! for then would I fly away, and be at rest.  Lo, then would I wander far off, and remain in the wilderness.”Psalm 55:6-7

David, the shepherd boy who became the king of Israel, knew the wilderness of Judea well.  For him, the desert would also become a place to find peace and safety: not only from the threats of an enemy, but from the emotional betrayal of a close friend.

“For it was not an enemy that reproached me; then I could have borne it: neither was it he that hated me that did magnify himself against me; then I would have hid myself from him:  But it was thou, a man mine equal, my guide, and mine acquaintance.” – Psalm 55:12-13

Our lives have certain periods, or seasons of good times and seasons of tough times; maybe even times you wish you could die; or seasons you are afraid you are going to die.  I must remember life comes in cycles.

“That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust.”Matt. 5:45

I must remember that even if I can’t see it coming now, I am not alone.  I must know that the sun rises after the storm.   It is so important to have hope.

But experience has taught me that I do not necessarily want to experience the hope too quickly.  This is a hard acknowledgement, but the wilderness has a function and needs to do its thing in me.  It has a function in my life.  It requires a period of time in the desert to teach me a lesson I will not forget.

The Jews spent much of their time in the wilderness to learn to trust God.  Many men, in the bible, took time to go to the wilderness in order to learn that God was their Father and that He would take care of them.

I, as a disciple of Christ, should use the desert as a time for solace, reflection and decisions that determine resolve to follow in His steps.  I must not be afraid of the desert, but allow it to do its work on me.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

