Skip to content

May 10 – There Is Sadness And Despair, But Hope Is Not Lost

May 10, 2012

“They wandered in the wilderness in a solitary way; they found no city to dwell in.  Hungry and thirsty, their soul fainted in them.  Then they cried unto the LORD in their trouble, and he delivered them out of their distresses.” -Psalm 107:4-6

Qumran (koom-rahn), where the Dead Sea Scrolls were found, is atop a mountain overlooking the lowest physical area on earth.  Located about two miles from the dead sea, in this lowland, it is completely desert with virtually no life.

The Jewish separatists called the Essenes, chose this desolate region of the wilderness in which to live because of their fear of the Roman army.  They had hoped to see the return of their messiah to save them, but that hope was lost with the Roman conquest and destruction of the Temple.

The wilderness (or desert) is like that.  More than a few times, hope has died in the wilderness.  This is a great metaphor of the many lives that never recover from wilderness times in their lives.  By the grace of God, I have survived some of these times in my own life.

Like the Jews of old, just about everyone can identify with the wilderness and loss of hope.  I’ve had these times in my life many times; but I know I am not alone.  Maybe it was cancer, some tragedy, or death of a loved one.  Maybe it was that hope and dreams were shattered, in despair over relationships, isolation, business, etc.

“For we know that the whole creation groaneth and travaileth in pain together until now.  And not only they, but ourselves also, which have the firstfruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves…”Rom 8:22-23

Paul said all creation is groaning around me and with me.  I live in a fallen world, and I experience sadness, despair, troubles, and feelings of hopelessness:  all because of sin.

I’ve gone through things I never dreamed would have happened.  There’s something about the death of hope, and the loss experienced.  Living for Christ each day, does not mean a trouble-free life; but does there have to be so many problems?  I want to discover how to deal with despair, sadness and depression.  How do I face each new day with joy in my soul, when I have faced such spiritual collapse in my life?  Is there really hope?  I believe there is.  I’ll talk about more of this tomorrow, Lord willing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

