Skip to content

May 9 – Now That I’ve Seen Him, I Cannot Go Back

May 9, 2012

“…seeing they crucify to themselves the Son of God afresh, and put him to an open shame.” – Hebrews 6:6 

Allow me to illustrate my next point…

A father of a nine year old had given specific instructions to not go into the street.  The family lived in a residential neighborhood and their street was a main artery and very busy with traffic.  The father had repeatedly stated this to his young son, enough so, that the son should have obeyed without much difficulty.

However, one day, while the father was outside working in the yard, his son, wanting to try out his skateboard in a wider, more open area, looked over toward the inviting street.  He looked back, his father was bent down working in the flower bed; He looked at the street again.  “Nobody was coming,” he thought.  He looked both ways, then back again at his dad, then proceeded to skate toward the street between two parked cars.  The father heard the sound of his son riding the skateboard, looked up, and was grieved to see that his son was headed straight for the street.  He quickly followed after him, planning to scold him for his disobedience.  However, as he approached the street, he heard the squeal of tires rounding the corner; it was a speeding car.  He rushed toward his son screaming at him to get out of the road.  The son, who thought he could stretch it out a little, decided to make one more pass across the street before returning to his dad.  He didn’t see the speeding car coming.  The dad ran as fast as he could, and just in time, he pushed the son out of the way, but he was hit and thrown over the windshield and the car only to then land on the pavement.  This son looked upon this horrifying event in unbelief.

The father died as a result; the son was saved.

Now I know this is unthinkable, but imagine that… After the son witnessed his father lying there in agony – bleeding to death, he then asks this:

“Dad, I appreciate what you did for me, but I found it so exciting in the street.  You wouldn’t mind if I go out in the street again, would you?”  If the son could even think such a thing, the blind fool has not seen the sacrifice the father just made for him.

And… If I willfully desire to go back into the sinful excitement of the world, I haven’t seen the sacrifice of MY Father.

If the son had truly understood the significance of what the father did, a sense of horror would consume him.  He would have contempt for that skateboard every time he looked at it.

Jude 1:21  “…hating even the garment spotted by the flesh.”

If I would see that God (without hesitation) died to save me from the folly of sin, a sense of horror would consume me when I look at the cost my Father went to, to save me.  And I would have contempt on those sinful desires that still cling to my flesh (or, garments).

After seeing the sacrifice of the Father, how could I ever go back to the exciting pleasures of sin?  To do that, I would have to despise the Master’s sacrifice and trample underfoot the blood of Jesus. NO!  In light of that sacrifice, I willfully crucify myself to the world and the world to myself.

Gal 2:20  “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.”

I must not forget the sacrifice made for me on the cross of Calvary.  I must not forget what my Savior did for me.  I must not forget the price that was paid by Him for the debt I owed.  I must not forget the cost, and the fact that He did the same thing for my neighbor, my boss and fellow workers, and for the young lady checking out my groceries.

That’s what a strong soldier for Christ will do.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

