Skip to content

May 7 – I Must Communicate With God

May 7, 2012

“… greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world.” – 1 John 4:4

In the army of the Lord, I’m a soldier on a mission, right?  Who’s giving me my marching orders?  God, of course.  I will do this by communicating with headquarters, and for the purpose of:

  • Receiving supplies
  • Receiving food
  • Receiving medical supplies
  • Receiving ammunition

Prayer is my line of communication between me and headquarters (if you will).  I must communicate with God to receive the supplies I need; to receive the spiritual food I need for strength; to receive the soul-healing I need; and to receive ammunition.

IN order to do this, I must keep my line of communication open – free from the interference and static that makes communication difficult.  What I am talking about is sin.  If God can’t hear me… I will not receive what I need.  If I am not hearing God, I will make the wrong move and walk right into enemy territory.

Sin interferes.  It stands in the way of communication with my Father.  An example of this is found in 1 Peter.

“Likewise, ye husbands, dwell with them according to knowledge, giving honour unto the wife, as unto the weaker vessel, and as being heirs together of the grace of life; that your prayers be not hindered.” 1 Pet. 3:7 

Sin kills my confidence in prayer and often prevents me from praying,  The last thing I want to do is talk to God.  If sin is dominating my life and distracting me from obeying God, then I become (essentially) cut-off from headquarters.  There is no way to replenish my supplies; I am left alone in battle and will most certainly succumb. Jeremiah penned the answer:

“Call unto me, and I will answer thee, and shew thee great and mighty things, which thou knowest not.” – Jer 33:3

The Gospel contains the power of God.  I do not rely upon my own strength, but upon the power of God to penetrate the hearts of people around me.

Nehemiah wrote, “… for the joy of the LORD is your strength.” – Neh 8:10

Phil. 4:13- “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”

I need God’s help in this battle.  I cannot do this alone.  It is not through faith in my own works, it is through faith in God.  So I must ask myself… Do I have faith in God?  Do I believe in His mission?  Do I really trust Him to do the very things He said He would do for me and others?  Do I believe the Gospel has the power to convict a heart and save a soul?  Do you believe that He will provide me with the necessary weapons and supplies I need for battle?  I hope so.  I must understand my mission and I must understand my weapons.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    May 29, 2012 6:12 am

    Another good reason that we :Love one another” hear in this life. Papa

Leave a Reply

