Skip to content

May 6 – I Receive Strength Through Eating

May 6, 2012

“But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.”Psalm 1:2

In considering the needs of an army soldier, he must first be strong and healthy.  He must eat well and be filled with energy so he can carry out his assigned tasks.  His life (and those around him) may very well depend on it.

As a soldier in the army of Christ, I must be strong and healthy.  A soldier of Christ should be as David wrote in the first Psalm.  David says the man of God delights in His law.  He craves it.  He meditates upon it.  He goes on to say that the follower of God would mature and prosper.  In other words, he will have all the tools necessary to complete his mission in life.

Do I do this?  Do I meditate on the Word of God day and night?  Well… I must be honest, I do not.  Am I consumed with the teachings of God like I am consumed with other activities in my life?  Again, no.  Why not?  A soldier of God will feed himself in the Word of God; he will read and absorb the Bread of Life at every opportunity – the very words of Life – without fail!

Can you imagine a soldier in the army going out into the battlefield without having eaten a meal for a week, for a month, for six months or a year?  Of course not.  He cannot survive and will (most certainly) fail in his mission.

Now then, I can state this without hesitation, I eat something every day.  I seem to always be concerned about my next meal.  I don’t really think about food being a weapon, but in a way, it is.  Without it, I will not survive.  Without my spiritual food, I won’t either.

Job said it like this, “… I have esteemed the words of his mouth more than my necessary food.” – Job 23:12

Wow, I am so ashamed.  How can I be so distracted?  How can I be so weak?  I do read the Bible, but how often do I take the time to meditate upon the Word of God?  Not very much.  Let me ask it a different way?  Do I pray every day?  Well, yes, I do.  But think about it…. why do I pray every day but not read and meditate on God’s Word every day?  I ask God for his help, but I don’t listen to what He is telling me in His revealed Word?  Doesn’t make any sense, does it?  Will I receive the full benefit of prayer if I approach God in this manner?  I’m not so sure…

I will continue this thought tomorrow, Lord willing.

Leave a Reply

