Skip to content

May 5 – I Am On A Mission

May 5, 2012

“In whom the god of this world hath blinded the minds of them which believe not, lest the light of the glorious gospel of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine unto them.” 2 Cor. 4:4

In this spiritual warfare that, as a Christian, I have signed on for; I have a mission to fulfill.  One of the primary objectives is to see that the Gospel of Christ is spread.  But our enemy (Satan) knows, that if it is successfully spread, it will free souls from His control; and he will not stand for that.  So, he has blinded their minds.  I must know my mission so I can turn those minds, those hearts, to Christ.  Satan (the god of this world) came to kill, steal and destroy. (John 10:10)   Because of this, my sites are set on penetrating the strongholds of the enemy with the Word of God – to share the Gospel, to plead for their souls.

The Son of man came to seek and save that which is lost.  I am called as His disciples to “walk in His steps” seeking the same results.

“Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost: Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen.” – Mat 28:19-20

Why were these His final words?  Do I really realize the extent of what He had just performed for fallen man?  He went to this length to save me because He knows what I will suffer if I pay the penalty for my own sins. That’s how much love He has for me!  He saw the pitiful plight of His creation; and the depth of mercy and love He had for mankind was clearly shown and accomplished upon the cross of Calvary.  His love reached so deeply (in that very act) to reach the deepest pit I am in.  My sin cannot be beyond His grace and love.  But He knew my sad estate.  He tasted death; He destroyed the power of Satan over my life – He destroyed the power of Hell and the grave – all so I wouldn’t have to pay the penalty for my sins.  He paid the penalty; He paid the cost; He paid all of my debt when MY sins were laid upon Him.

“…to wit, that God was in Christ reconciling the world unto himself, not reckoning unto them their trespasses, and having committed unto us the word of reconciliation. We are ambassadors therefore on behalf of Christ, as though God were entreating by us: we beseech you on behalf of Christ, be ye reconciled to God.” (RV) 2 Co 5:19-20

The church’s mission is my mission as one of His soldiers.   The great commission of our Lord – if I will fully realize the extent He went to (in order) to save me; when I fully realize what I was saved from (and how narrowly I escaped Hell), I will do everything in my power to save people from the Everlasting Hell.  I will go to whatever lengths possible to save even one soul from eternal damnation.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

