Skip to content

May 4 – I Am A Soldier In His Army

May 4, 2012

“Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might.  Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.” – Eph 6:10-11

I’ve never been in the military, so to understand the significance of this passage might be a little difficult.  However, studying a little about the Army helps to grasp a spiritual truth I might otherwise miss.

When one joins the army, the first thing they do is strip him of all his worldly possessions, cut off his hair, take away personal items– they don’t want the soldier distracted by the non-essentials of this world.  So they take away all his comforts and independence; and they discipline him.  We know it as “boot camp.”  They do this so when they tell the soldier to do something, he’ll do it.  He will have learned obedience and how to take commands.  Everything he will do from that point forward will be to accomplish the mission given them from the leaders.  His very life may depend upon it!

I have often heard the Church referred to as the army of God, and that is a fair analogy.  The Church is an army that should be training its soldiers.  But, instead, my involvement with other soldiers in the army is minimized by all of the distractions in this life.  I go from Sunday to Sunday without a lot of interaction with others.  It seems there is just no time for personal study or study with one another.  Because my life is so consumed with other activities, I get blinded to the fact that the Church ought to be moving forward with the mission of Christ.  How can it happen if I do not get engaged?  Is this something to be concerned about today?

The Bible is filled with admonition regarding warfare.  It is God who teaches me how to fight – I’m talking about “the good fight of faith”.  My battle plan is for the rescue of the souls of men and women.  My mission is to see their souls set free from the hands of the enemy.  I’m not talking about a literal physical battle.  This battle is “not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, powers, rulers of the darkness of this world, and spiritual wickedness in high places.”  Our weapons are not carnal, but “mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holds;” (2 Cor. 10:4). I have everything I need available to me as a soldier in His army.  Paul highlights them for me in his letter to the Ephesians: 1) The Truth  2) Righteousness of God  3) the Gospel of Peace  4) Faith  5) Confidence in Our Salvation (being covered by the blood of Christ) 6) and Prayer.

If I am to be prepared for battle; if I am to be prepared to carry out my mission, I must know what that mission is.  In the next few days, I will be looking at some principles of battle to help me understand the spiritual battle I am in and how to better prepare myself to be in the fight.  These principles are clearly taught in the Bible; and I want to examine them in light of my salvation and my individual responsibilities.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. T.K. Allen permalink
    May 4, 2012 11:22 am

    Brother,

    this article, as well as all your other articles that I’ve read, is excellent. Your articles are thoughtfully written, with a sensitive and gentle tone.

    The unseen spiritual world is more real and more threatening than the seen world. If we really believed and understood this, we would take clothing ourselves with the full armor of God much more seriously. I wanted to share some thoughts with you on a piece of the full armor of God, the helmet of salvation.

    All the pieces of armor are crucial to our victory over darkness. The helmet of salvation is especially important however, and not simply because of the significance of salvation. Jesus’s Name means salvation. When we put on the helmet of salvation, we are putting on the mind of Christ. The implications of the mind of Christ influencing and guiding our every thought are staggering!

    Besides having His mindset on everything going on in our universe, the helmet of salvation guards our minds from the attacks of the enemy–condemnation, guilt over forgiven sins, insecurity, etc. etc.

    Thanks for writing. I look forward to reading more about the armor of God!

    Blessings,
    T.K.

Leave a Reply

