Skip to content

May 2 – My Weakness Is Made Strong In Christ

May 2, 2012

“And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness.” – 2 Cor. 12:9

As stated yesterday, the grace of the Lord would be all-sufficient, yes, everything Paul would need to get by.  He would no longer be weak, but would be very strong by the grace provided by the Lord.

Whatever this “thorn” was, it was significant.  Remember, he prayed three times to have it removed.  This was serious to him.  Yet, the point came, when Paul accepted the fact that the thorn would remain, and he would now be relying on the power of the Lord to deal with it.

I wonder sometimes if I have the faith to believe that He will provide an abundance of grace to sufficiently carry me through the trials or temptations I face.  In my mind, it takes a lot of faith.   But I must remember, Jesus told his disciples in Matthew 17:20, “If ye have faith as a grain of mustard seed, ye shall say unto this mountain, Remove hence to yonder place; and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible unto you.”  It really only takes a little faith.  When I place all my faith in God, even if it is little, I will be amazed at what God will do.  His grace is always sufficient.  I just need to make sure I have it, and that is accomplished by humbling myself in submission to Him.

This “thorn” was something Paul could not handle by himself, that’s obvious.  He readily accepted what the Lord told him.

I must have the faith to understand that when I am tempted to sin, or am troubled by some infirmity, if I defer my weakness to His strength and His power, His grace will also be sufficient for me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

