Skip to content

May 1 – His Grace Is Sufficient For Me

May 1, 2012

“For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me.” – 2 Cor. 12:8

Continuing thoughts from yesterday, Paul was given a “thorn in the flesh.”  This thorn, while perhaps unknown, was given so that he would not be puffed up with pride.  He was suffering from this thorn; painful enough, troubling enough that, like Jesus, he prayed three times to have it removed.

How many times have Christians prayed to have their infirmities removed?  How many times has God heard prayers of the saints to take their trouble away, to have their temptations removed?  I can tell you, I have had thorns (so to speak) that have been so tormenting to me, I have prayed to the Lord many more than three times to have them taken away.  I have had pains and struggles in my life, yes even temptations.  Oh, I have not always given in, but the temptations are real, nevertheless, and they press upon my soul.

The Lord told Paul He would not remove it, but that His grace would carry him through it all.  Everything he needed would be given him to overcome it and to make it through it.  He would be given provision.  The lord wasn’t talking about barely meeting his needs.  Usually the word “sufficient” implies that it will be just enough; it will barely suffice.  This is not what is meant here.  What this means is the Lord will be everything Paul needs.  He will fully supply what he needs.  Paul will not be relying his own strength, but Christ will be his strength.  His grace will be everything he needs.

This principle is true, not only for Paul, but for me also.  I need to walk by faith (just like Paul).  I must have the faith to understand, that everything I need to overcome my thorn(s) in the flesh, will be given me ?  My Lord is all I need.  He is everything I need to overcome this world.  He is everything I need to overcome sin in my life.  He is my all in all.  Like Paul, His grace is sufficient for me.  Thank you, Lord.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

