Skip to content

April 30 – What About My Thorn In The Flesh?

April 30, 2012

“And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure.” – 2 Cor. 12:7

Paul begins telling of an experience he had where he (at least in spirit) visited Heaven.  He saw something so incredible and so unspeakable, he was given, by the Lord, a thorn in the flesh to keep him humble.

Interestingly enough, I do not believe anybody conclusively knows what this thorn was.  There is a lot of speculation regarding this, but I just don’t see it clearly.  Some have suggested it to be his eyesight because of the experience on road to Damascus; and looking at Gal. 6:11, it could be possible, where he said this, “Ye see how large a letter I have written unto you with mine own hand.”  I don’t know that he was speaking of the size of the literal size of the words, or the fact that it was a long letter that was written by him.  Some have suggested that it might have been his speech because of what he said in 1 Cor. 2:1, “And I, brethren, when I came to you, came not with excellency of speech or of wisdom…”

The fact is, I can’t say for sure what that thorn was.  It seems the Holy Spirit simply wanted to tell me he had a thorn, but did not reveal to me exactly what that thorn is.

That okay by me; If I knew what that thorn was, I might easily just chalk it up to being about Paul and his infirmity.  But, instead, it now becomes something I can relate to.  I think this can apply to all Christians.

I like Paul, have different thorns in the flesh.  I suffer from physical ailments, troubling external circumstances, mental and emotional stress, and, not to mention, sin.

There is a lesson in this writing of Paul for me by looking at what the Lord told him, and looking at how he dealt with it.  In this passage, there is comfort for me too.

More tomorrow, Lord willing.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    May 13, 2012 6:05 am

    See Gal. 4:13-15 for a futher thought. Papa

Leave a Reply

