Skip to content

April 24 – God’s Word Is Sufficient

April 24, 2012

“Grace and peace be multiplied unto you through the knowledge of God, and of Jesus our Lord, According as his divine power hath given unto us all things that pertain unto life and godliness” – 2 Pet 1:2-3

Peter makes a claim for the completeness of the Gospel revealed by the Spirit (divine power) through the Apostles.  Peter suggests that I actually have everything I need (from the Spirit) that pertains to living my life in a godly manner.  This means the Bible, which has been left for me, complete with the writings of these very Apostles (who were inspired by the Holy Spirit), is complete and sufficient in matters pertaining to spiritual life and godliness!

2 Tim 3:16-17 claims that God’s Word is fully sufficient.

“All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:  That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.”

This passage confirms that God’s revealed word is sufficient for man’s every spiritual need.

Note some details… The scriptures, “given by inspiration of God,” are profitable for “doctrine.”  Nothing should be taught as “doctrine” that is not given by inspiration of God.  If I teach doctrines contrary to the Word of God, I deny the sufficiency of the scriptures for “doctrine.”

Jesus said in John 17:17, “Thy word is truth.”   Doctrine is by definition, “that which is taught.”  Jesus gave a great deal of emphasis to teaching and to the thing that is taught.  In Matthew’s record of the Great Commission, He said:

“And Jesus came and spake unto them, saying, All power is given unto me in heaven and in earth.  Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:  Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen.” – Matt 28:18-20

The word “teaching” in “teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you” is the same word translated “doctrine” in 2 Timothy 3:16-17 — DIDASKO.

Again in Matthew 15:9, Jesus said,

“But in vain they do worship me, teaching for doctrines the commandments of men.”

Paul said in 1 Tim 1:3-4:

3          As I besought thee to abide still at Ephesus, when I went into Macedonia, that thou mightest charge some that they teach no other doctrine, Neither give heed to fables and endless genealogies, which minister questions, rather than godly edifying which is in faith: so do.

There are so many ideas and philosophies in this world that can sound convincing and believable.  However, I must check these things against God Word.  Knowing that God’s Word is sufficient to meet my needs in all areas of my life, I am able confidently study these things out to see if they agree with what God has revealed.  If not, I can, with the same confidence ignore it and simply accept what God has said.

Lord, I believe in You.  I trust You.  Give me the courage and faith to depend on Your Word with all my being.  I know You are the giver of the Bible; I know you love me immensely, so much so, You have not left me alone.  You have provided me much comfort and instruction in Your Word.  Thank you for loving me so much!

Leave a Reply

