Skip to content

April 23 – Is The Bible Really Infallible and Inspired By God?

April 23, 2012

Do I really believe the Bible to be the infallible and inspired Word of God?  Do I really believe it to be accurate in its fullest?  Do I really believe it is the only source for my faith and my life today?  Do I believe the Holy Spirit has revealed the mind of God in words of God’s own choosing in the scriptures; and that the scriptures, therefore, are the inspired revelation of the will of God and the duty of man?  Am I willing to accept the Bible as a perfect, complete, absolute and final guide in the realm of spiritual duty and activity?  This is the inevitable conclusion, and my obligation, if I believe that the Bible is the inspired Word of God.

So then, I must conclude:

1)      Either the Bible is a complete and perfect guide in my Christianity, or…

2)      It is insufficient and incapable of fully directing me to please God in my walk, and to gain eternal salvation.

God’s people, throughout the Old Testament, were often unfaithful.  On one occasion, when God’s offer of mercy and grace had been rejected by them, God through His prophet, in Hosea 8:12, said this:

Hosea 8:12  I have written to him the great things of my law, but they were counted as a  strange thing.

The wrong attitude toward God’s Word is a tragic mistake.  Jesus emphasized this in The Parable of the Sower.  The seed of the kingdom is the word.  The soil is the human heart into which the word falls.  All of the seed that fell into the wrong kind of hearts was lost.  None of it produced any fruit.  But all of the seed that fell into hearts with the right attitude brought forth fruit (Matthew 13:1-23).  Hebrews 4:2 tells us:

For unto us was the gospel preached, as well as unto them: but the word preached did not profit them, not being mixed with faith in them that heard it.”

The Word revealed does not always profit them that hear it because it is not mixed with faith.  Jesus promised (to the apostles) the guiding power of the Holy Spirit to reveal the Gospel to others.  He further promised that the Spirit would guide them into all truth (John 16:13).

In this same context, Paul declared in 1 Cor. 2:12:

“Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the spirit which is of God; that we might know the things that are freely given to us of God.

I can have confidence in the fact that what the Apostles received was the Truth.  The Holy Spirit, after concluding His work through the apostles, has revealed the mind of God (His message to me), and the duty of man (what I must do to please Him).  If I cannot believe what is written, then I can make-up whatever I want regarding my salvation.  But the truth is, salvation has been revealed, not in my think-sos, but within the Holy Scriptures.  Either this is true, or the Holy Spirit did not do for the apostles and through the apostles what Christ promised them!

I will spend the next few days considering my faith regarding the Bible.  Stay tuned!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

