Skip to content

April 22 – I Will Respect My God

April 22, 2012

“Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory; but in lowliness of mind let each esteem other better than themselves.  Look not every man on his own things, but every man also on the things of others.  Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus” – Phil 2:3-5

The definition of “respect” is as follows:

  1. To feel or show honor for; to think highly of; look up to.
  2. To be thoughtful about; have regard for (to respect others rights, opinions, etc.)

Is “respect” by these definitions something that is taught in the Bible?  The above scripture seems to indicate this.  There are also examples in the Scriptures such as David’s relationship with Saul.  But, most importantly, is my reverence and respect for God, my Heavenly Father.

“I am the LORD, and there is none else, there is no God beside me: I girded thee, though thou hast not known me:  That they may know from the rising of the sun, and from the west, that there is none beside me. I am the LORD, and there is none else.  I form the light, and create darkness: I make peace, and create evil: I the LORD do all these things.  Drop down, ye heavens, from above, and let the skies pour down righteousness: let the earth open, and let them bring forth salvation, and let righteousness spring up together; I the LORD have created it.  Woe unto him that striveth with his Maker! Let the potsherd strive with the potsherds of the earth. Shall the clay say to him that fashioneth it, What makest thou? or thy work, He hath no hands?” – Isa 45:5-9

“God is greatly to be feared in the assembly of the saints, and to be had in reverence of all them that are about him.” Ps 89:7

Obviously, there is so much more that could be said regarding the need for respect for God, but suffice it to say, God is to be worshipped and adored.  He is to be revered and honored in everything I do.  I must think before I say anything disrespectful toward or about Him; and I must take a moment before I act, and consider how this action will glorify Him.  He is the Potter, I am the clay.  It behooves me to gives serious consideration to how I am honoring Him with my life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

