Skip to content

April 21 – I Must Be Careful With My Feelings

April 21, 2012

“Let all things be done decently and in order.” 1Cor. 14:40

Walking in the Spirit requires me to consider carefully His words written within the Holy scriptures.  I must not react or over-react by allowing my feelings to take charge in my life or in my worship.  Now to clarify, I have feelings and believe my feelings certainly have a role in my Christian walk.  What I am talking about is the idea of emotionalism; where emotions rule instead of the Word of God.

Feelings can be deceptive.  Sometimes I seem to respond to situations by what I feel in my heart.  Rather than basing my reaction and beliefs on what the Bible instructs, I tend to want to step beyond where God directs me.

Even in worship, Paul instructed the Corinthians to control the “speaking in tongues” within the assembly.  This ability was given them supernaturally by the Holy Spirit, yet Paul says to control when and how they were to use this gift.  We can control what we do.

In like-manner, my emotions can get the best of me and cause me to say or do things “extra-Biblical.”  To walk in the Spirit is to agree absolutely with the Word of God.  The Holy Spirit will not move me to say or do anything that is not affirmed in the Holy Bible.  I must remember this.

On the other hand, there is much danger if my life is nothing but “dead formalism.”  I’m talking about a life where I exhibit little or no emotion in my Christian walk.  Whether in my personal life, or in my worship; if it does not involve my heart, it is just as wrong!  Wow, the verses in Mt 15:7-18 are very thought-provoking.  I include one verse here:

“This people draweth nigh unto me with their mouth, and honoureth me withtheirlips; but their heart is far from me.” – Mat 15:8

I don’t know where I got the following story.  I heard it several years ago, but it goes something like this:

“A man walks into a worship assembly. The preacher is eloquently expressing God’s love for us, and the man says ‘Amen!’  That draws a few stares and whispers of ‘Who is that?’ The preacher goes on to state that Jesus died for our sins so that we can go to heaven and the man says ‘Alleluia.’  Again more stares and questions.  Finally, the preacher states that through Jesus we may have eternal life, and the man says ‘Praise the Lord!’  Everyone is looking now, and one of the elders goes over to the newcomer to inform him, ‘We don’t praise the Lord here.'”

I think, perhaps, in our passion for Truth, we tend to go from one extreme to another.

May I be motivated to live my life by the Truth of the Word and not my feelings.  However, may my heart be fully engaged in my Christian walk as I seek His Truth.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

