Skip to content

April 20 – I Have A Valuable Gift

April 20, 2012

“And all things are of God, who hath reconciled us to himself by Jesus Christ, and hath given to us the ministry of reconciliation” – 2Cor. 5:18

Sometimes I don’t have the joy I should because I don’t acknowlege the terribleness of my sin.  If I don’t fully realize what I have been saved from, I won’t appreciate the salvation from sin which God offers.

Do I appreciate what Jesus has done for me?  Let me remind myself of a couple of things He has done.  The verse above clearly reminds me that He has reconciled me back to a loving fellowship with God!  My sins had caused a separation between us; but now, He has brought us back together.  He has also made all things new in my life.

“Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.” 2Cor. 5:17

If I would just remember these things, it would bring about more joy in my daily life.  God wants me to retain a joy in my heart.  John wrote, and Jesus spoke, concerning things designed to give us fullness of joy!

“These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full.” -Jn 15:11

“And these things we write to you that your joy may be full.” -1 Jn 1:4

Many times I do not keep in my mind what Jesus taught and what His apostles wrote.  If I did, I would be filled with joy, so much so, I could not contain it!

Instead, I seem to allow myself to be more influenced by the world and its standards than God’s Word.  Because of this, I wind up valuing material things over spiritual things.  This is called, “walking after the flesh,” and not “after the Spirit.”

I begin to show more joy over receiving things like a new job, promotion, or raise; a new house or car; or even my wife or children.  It is simply misdirected focus.  It is seeking things of the flesh.

What about the gift of salvation from sin?  Do I value this as much?  If I do, it will change my life and my outlook on life!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

