Skip to content

April 19 – I Have Been Given A Precious Gift

April 19, 2012

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.” – James 1:17

What has God given to me?  It may be easier to list those things God hasn’t given me!  James said that everything good in this life is from God.  I believe that.  The most valuable gift God has given me is eternal life!

“For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.” – Romans 6:23

This involves freedom from the condemnation for my sin through Jesus’ blood.  This gift of salvation also gives me fellowship with God; it brings me into a relationship with Him.  The other significant thing this gift provides me is the confidence of everlasting life with God.  Should not the great value of this gift produce great joy, not only deep in my soul, but in my every day walk?  One example that comes to mind is the Ethiopian eunuch in Acts 8:38-39:

“And he commanded the chariot to stand still: and they went down both into the water, both Philip and the eunuch; and he baptized him.  And when they were come up out of the water, the Spirit of the Lord caught away Philip, that the eunuch saw him no more: and he went on his way rejoicing.”

I’ll continue the thoughts tomorrow, Lord willing… stay with me!

Leave a Reply

