Skip to content

April 16 – I Am Comforted By The Holy Spirit

April 16, 2012

Before I can go any further and rejoice in the comfort of God I must first pause and deal with a foundational principle of my Christian walk:  obedience.  I grieve the Holy Spirit by my disobedience; and if He is grieved, I will not be able to receive the comfort He has for me.  His comfort is a blessing reserved for those who obey God. 

Jesus states in John 14:16-18,

“And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever—the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you. I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.” (NIV)

This was stated shortly before His ascension.  He would be gone, but the disciples held on to His promise to send them the Holy Spirit.  What joy, then, when the Holy Spirit descended at Pentecost.  The disciples had with them the continual reminder that Jesus was alive and victorious at the right hand of the Father.  This continues to be the Spirit’s message.  It is this presence in my life that gives me the stability I need in order to serve Christ as I grow in grace and knowledge of the Savior.

This begins the sanctifying work of the Holy Spirit.  We’ll talk more about this tomorrow, Lord willing.

Leave a Reply

