Skip to content

April 14 – I Refuse To Be A Stumbling Block

April 14, 2012

“So then every one of us shall give account of himself to God.” Rom 14:12

Continuing thoughts from Romans 14…

Read Romans 14 in its entirety.

Paul says in verse 9 that the reason Christ died and rose from the dead was so he would be Lord over both the dead and living.  He asks, “So why do you judge your brothers and sisters in Christ?  And why do you think you are better than they are?  We will all stand before God to be judged, because it is written is scripture, that, As surely as the Lord lives, Everyone will bow down before him and everyone will say that He is God.”

It has been said before and I’ll say it again, you can choose to bow before Him today, or you can choose to wait until judgement, but the day will come you will acknowledge the Lord Jesus Christ and will confess his name.  The latter is not preferred!

Verse 12 concludes it this thought very simply, “So each one of us will have to answer to God.”

Based on this, I must take my Christian walk seriously.  This does not mean the things I participate in or the things I do or say does not matter.  Quite the contrary.  It makes me personally responsible for my actions and for my faith before God.  This reminds me of the scripture in Phil 2:12-16, “Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed– not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence– continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you to will and to act according to his good purpose.  Do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe as you hold out the word of life…”

Back in verse 4, Paul stated that the Lord’s servant will do well because the Lord helps him do well.  It is God who works through me and it is God who will accomplish in me what He wants for me if I will seek Him and seek Him first in my life.

Verse 13 wraps this thought up in a nutshell.  I must stop judging others.  And I must make up our my mind not to do anything that will cause another Christian to sin.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

