Skip to content

April 13 – God Accepts Me, I Should Accept Others

April 13, 2012

“Who are you to judge someone else’s servant? To his own master he stands or falls. And he will stand, for the Lord is able to make him stand.” – Romans 14:4

Allow me to give an example:

My children belong to me. Other people’s children belong to them. It is not my business to tell others how to raise their children. Nor is it anybody else’s business to tell me how to raise my mine, either. It may be that advice is given or asked for, but I do not have the authority to come into someone else’s house and analyze how your children are doing. God has placed my children under my authority to raise; and He has placed others’ kids under their authority. There are areas in the way I raise my children others might disagree with and might do differently.

There are also areas where I may allow one child to participate in or do something that I might not allow another one to do. Do you know why? Because I know what’s best for each one of those children. Some things may adversely affect one child while another may be strong enough to handle it. But who makes those decisions? I do. They do not make it. Another child does not tell the other one what to do or what not to do. They each answer to me for their actions, attitudes, things they say and things they do.

God is the same way. I am His servant and I need to respond to Him as my authority and do the things I do for His glory. Others are also His servants. They must answer for the things they do and will answer to His authority just like I do.  It is not for me to determine how they conduct certain affairs in their lives.  Some things are clearly between them and their God.

Now we are obviously not talking about things clearly stated as doctrine in the Bible; but of things that are judgment calls.  There are times I will do things or allow things that others may not.  The command from the Lord, through the Apostle Paul is that we accept one another and allow God to deal with His children in these judgment areas as He sees fit.

I must understand that God has accepted the weak, and I should as well.  God has accepted those with different outlooks and opinions than I have.  Is there no grace in my heart to allow for different levels of spiritual growth?

Not only that, God has accepted the poor.  I must too.  God has accepted the rich, I must too.  God has accepted the Jew, the Gentile, the bond, the free, the white and the black; and so should I.  God has accepted the sinner and offered him grace…. (oh, yeah, the sinner?  That’s me, too!), and so should I!

Leave a Reply

