Skip to content

April 12 – Don’t Judge Me, I Belong To The Lord

April 12, 2012

“…let every man be fully persuaded in his own mind.” – Rom 14:5

Continuing my thoughts from yesterday…

Paul said that some think one day is more important than another, and others think that every day is the same.  Those who think one day is more important than other days are doing that for the Lord.  And those who eat all kinds of food are doing that for the Lord.  Others who refuse to eat some foods do that for the Lord.  Paul goes on to emphasize, We do not live or die for ourselves.  If we live, we are living for the Lord.  If we die, we are dying for the Lord.  Living or dying, we belong to the Lord.

Why is this important to understand?  Because I belong to the Lord.  I do not belong to myself, I do not belong to anybody else.  Therefore, it’s not my business to have others conform to every opinion or idea I have, nor should it be anybody else’s business to judge me.  It is a matter of conscience and is for the Lord.  It is God’s business.  Period.  I don’t think it could be stated any clearer than the Apostle Paul stated it.  He said in verse 4 of our chapter, “Who are you to judge someone else’s servant?  To his own master he stands or falls. And he will stand, for the Lord is able to make him stand.”

What this is telling me is each individual is the Lord’s servant.  I am the Lord’s servant.  I belong to Him.  Another Christian Brother is the Lord’s servant.  He belongs to Him also.  Paul said I have no right to judge another man’s servant.  The master decides if the servant is doing well or not.  The servants are a picture of the disciples; the master is a picture of the Lord.  I don’t know about you, but I refuse to make a judgment on the Lord’s servants.  Who am I to make some decree on others.  I believe I will leave that to the Righteous Judge who can truly judge the intents of the heart.

Lord willing, tomorrow, I want to illustrate this in a very practical way.  Stay with me…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

