Skip to content

April 11 – Judging My Brother In Opinions

April 11, 2012

“Let not him that eateth despise him that eateth not; and let not him which eateth not judge him that eateth: for God hath received him. Who art thou that judgest another man’s servant? to his own master he standeth or falleth. Yea, he shall be holden up: for God is able to make him stand.” – Rom 14:3-4

Continuing thoughts from yesterday…

Verse 3 says the person who thinks it is wrong to eat meat must accept the one who eats it because the Lord has accepted him.  What?  How can the Lord accept both?

On what basis did the Lord accepted him?  I refer you back to Rom. 6:3-5 where Paul stated clearly, “…don’t you know that all of us who were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death?  We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life.  If we have been united with him like this in his death, we will certainly also be united with him in his resurrection.” 

I have been unified with the body of Christ by the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus Christ.  That was realized through baptism into His death.  The Lord has accepted me based upon this fact, and He has accepted others based on the same thing.  I’ve been born into His family.  Because of this, the Lord has accepted me.  So why must I argue with my Brother about things which are matters of conscience and not a clear doctrine or command?  I would never condone going against clear teaching of the Bible; but surely, there are issues that simply are not to be argued about.  This does not promote peace, it promotes division, and God is not the author of confusion.

In fact, I should fully respect a Brother’s opinion when we are talking about opinions.  Who am I to think my “opinion” is any better than somebody else’s “opinion?”  Scripture legislates doctrine.  Conscience legislates opinion.  I must know the difference.

We should not boast of anything else… not opinions; not positions; not our status, etc.  We should not boast of ourselves or think more highly of ourselves than we ought.  Gal. 6:14 says it like this, “But God forbid that I should boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ…” 

Leave a Reply

