Skip to content

April 9 – My Good Works, Or His?

April 9, 2012

“For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure. Do all things without murmurings and disputings…” – Phil. 2:13-14

This verse follows Paul telling the disciples to “work out your own salvation…”   Quite a statement; however, he continues with the fact that I am not left alone.  He has not called me to do this on my own.  God promises His help.  Not only does he call on me to work out my salvation, but he reminds me here in this verse that when I submit my will to His, He works in me to accomplish His will in my life.

In other words, while I am seeking His will, and doing the things I need to, applying myself to study, learning and growing, He will do His work in me.  He promises that I will become like Christ.  He will mold me in the image of Christ, and will be directed to live according to His will.  He will work through me.  For example, when I love my enemies, it is Christ through me loving my enemies.  When I do some good work for someone, it is Christ accomplishing this good work through me.

So am I to do good works as a Christian?  Yes.  Is it me who does these good works? No, not really.  I am nothing, I have nothing to offer, it is all about Him.  It is Christ in me working through me.  Here is the balance of two truths in my sanctification, or growth as a Christian:  My submissive obedience should be from a willing heart; and God working in me to bring about a change in my life; one that becomes more like the Master.  God will do His part.  Will I?  God will not force Himself upon me, I must be willing to submit.  When I do, God does amazing things!

I am so thankful God has counted me worthy enough to be used in His service.  As He uses me, He brings about a purification in my life by providing good works to perform.  Through all the works He brings my way, I am tempered, I am sharpened, I am disciplined, but I am also loved.  He allows these challenges to develop me into what I should be.  I will not murmur nor complain.  I will not argue with Him about what He throws my way.  I humbly submit to You, Lord.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    May 5, 2012 6:15 am

    Excellent thoughts. Papa

Leave a Reply

