Skip to content

April 5 – I Am Sealed By The Holy Spirit

April 5, 2012

“Now he which stablisheth us with you in Christ, and hath anointed us, is God; Who hath also sealed us, and given the earnest of the Spirit in our hearts.” – 2 Cor. 1:21-22

First of all, the Holy Spirit is given to me as God’s guarantee, His seal that I am His.   That very thought ought to humble me to the point I willingly, at all times, submit to His guidance.  Every move I make, every thought I have, should be to follow after the Spirit and not the flesh.

It is very important to note that in the Bible the evidence of the presence of the Spirit is the fruit of the Spirit—this list of moral and ethical virtues (Gal. 5:22-23).  One thing is clear, where the Holy Spirit is at work, I can never rationalize, condone, or make excuses for my moral failure.  The Holy Spirit never leads me to say, “it’s not so bad, everyone does it.”  This world may teach me to take sin and ungodliness lightly, as if the sacrifice of Christ was not important.  But the Holy Spirit, living in me, convicts me of sin and confirms (bears witness with) my spirit.  When He convicts me of sin, it provokes me to repent.  I will then humble myself in prayer and confess those sins to Him.  He will forgive me by that same blood offered on Calvary.  God sees the sacrifice of Jesus as the penalty paid for my sin, and He forgives.  I can then be strengthened to overcome the power of sin.  The power He provides me is much stronger.  If I will let Him rule in my Life, then I will become “more than conquerors.”

Little by little, the Holy Spirit develops in me the character and righteousness of Jesus.  As I am faithful to Him, He is faithful to me and will not allow me to be tempted above what I can handle.  He will also provide a way of escape so I can bear it. (1 Cor. 10:13)

His work is to make me holy and righteous, a job I cannot do on my own.

May I walk in faith each day realizing that I have a precious gift given to me by God, that is, the Holy Spirit.  May I be willing to listen, to respond, and to walk in such a way as to honor my God who has done so much to help me to conform the image of His Son, Jesus Christ, my Lord.

Leave a Reply

