Skip to content

April 2 – Walking In Holiness

April 2, 2012

“Strive for peace with everyone, and for the holiness without which no one will see the Lord.” – Heb 12:14

The effect of having the Holy Spirit at work in my life is holiness, a quality of life that reflects God’s presence and value.

The Bible makes if very clear, “without holiness a person will not see God.”  1 Thessalonians 4:3 says, “For it is God’s will that you be sanctified…”  To be saved means to be changed, to be made a new person, to be rescued from a hell-directed life to a heaven-directed life.  I am changed from living a way of life that leaves God out to one that is set apart for him.  Who does this?   The Holy Spirit.

As Romans 8 puts it, “For they that are after the flesh do mind the things of the flesh; but they that are after the Spirit the things of the Spirit.  For to be carnally minded is death; but to be spiritually minded is life and peace.  Because the carnal mind is enmity against God: for it is not subject to the law of God, neither indeed can be.  So then they that are in the flesh cannot please God.” – Romans 8:5-8

Jerry Bridges in his book The Pursuit of Holiness (NavPress, 1978) offers a very pointed illustration:

I recall a young man, a fairly new Christian, whose father was visiting him. The young man had not seen his father for several years. He was eager to share his newfound faith with his dad.  Several days later, I asked him how it had gone with his witness. He told me his dad had claimed to have received Christ when he went forward at an evangelistic meeting as a youngster, something his son had never heard before. Bridges says, I asked the young man, “In all the years you were growing up, did you ever see any evidence that your father was a Christian?” His answer was “NO.”

Bridges asks a penetrating question: What reason do we have to put confidence in that man’s salvation?  He was almost 60 and had never once given his son any evidence that he was a Christian.

He concludes: the only safe evidence that we are in Christ is a holy life.  John said, “And every man that hath this hope in him purifieth himself, even as he is pure.” – 1 John 3:3

If I know nothing of holiness, I may make myself feel better by claiming I am a Christian; but it is sure that I do not have the Holy Spirit dwelling within me.  If I did, I would know about holiness.

Lord, may I always walk in Your steps following closely the direction of the Holy Spirit.  May my life be cleansed of sin and may the Holy Spirit guide me every day.  May my life be a testimony to my family and to others that You are real and that I might be busy working in Your Kingdom.  May others be drawn to You by the good works I do in Your name.

Leave a Reply

