Skip to content

April 1 – God’s Holy Spirit Leads Me

April 1, 2012

“But whoever blasphemes against the Holy Spirit will never be forgiven; he is guilty of an eternal sin.” – Mark 3:29

The New Testament Christians recognized that it was the Holy Spirit who was leading Jesus as He gave God’s word to the apostles.

“For the one whom God has sent speaks the words of God, for God gives the Spirit without limit.” John 3:34  

Jesus depended upon the Holy Spirit to accomplish God’s will.  And, as with everything else Jesus did, He did this to set an example of how we should depend upon the Spirit, too.

Jesus said, “But if I drive out demons by the Spirit of God, then the kingdom of God has come upon you.” Matthew 12:28

In the past, I had withdrawn from even talking a lot about the Spirit.  Too many times, a preacher will have preached about the Holy Spirit, and I closed my ears to it.  I want to warn all Christians today.

I had better start hearing the Spirit.  I had better start listening to Him.  And, if I want to get to heaven, I had better start opening my heart and acknowledging the Holy Spirit in my Christian life.

Could it be that by being so stiff and hard; so formal and so conservative in my worship, that I have closed my heart to the Holy Spirit?  And could that, in itself, be blasphemy?

I have a tendency to skirt around a lot of things in life, but I am becoming more and more convinced that I had better stop dodging this issue.  I had better start making room for God’s Holy Spirit to come in and occupy my heart, my soul, and my mind.  I do not know what I have been missing!  No wonder I have found it difficult to overcome this sinful nature.

I have tended to think of Christ on earth being equal to God in Heaven; but He gave up his equality with God when he became part of humanity.  When he became one with mankind He also became dependent upon the power of the Holy Spirit:  just like what we should be doing.  Amazing, isn’t it?  He set the example and walked in the Spirit first.

ACTS 10:36-38
“… how God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and power, and how he went around doing good and healing all who were under the power of the devil, because God was with him.”

By being conscious of the need to stop living in the world and to start living under the Holy Spirit’s power is the only way I will ever have victory as a Christian.

GALATIANS 5:16
“So I say, live by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature.”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. nmetzler permalink
    April 4, 2012 12:12 pm

    I was just talking to a friend about this very subject. We were discussing how it is the Holy Spirit that leads us toward repentance. Without repentance there is no forgiveness of sins.

    May you know Him more…

  2. Lowell R. Price permalink
    April 24, 2012 6:04 am

    Ditto and AMEN Brother Leland. Papa

Trackbacks

  1. the spirit of agonizing conflict and the spirit of holiness « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality
  2. The Holy Spirit – Fr. Thomas R. Harding, Th.D. « Earthpages.org
  3. The Power Of God’s Word « bummyla

Leave a Reply

