Skip to content

March 31 – My Will, Or God’s Will?

March 31, 2012

“Now you, brothers, like Isaac, are children of promise. At that time the son born in the ordinary way [talking about Ishmael] persecuted the son born by the power of the Spirit. [talking about Isaac]. It is the same now.” – GALATIANS 4:28-29 (brackets mine)

God promised Abraham a son. That son, Isaac, was a long time in coming. Abraham thought it was taking too long; so Sarah and Abraham decided to make God’s plan happen through their ways.

Both Abraham and Sarah were too old to have children in the natural way, so they determined to try to make God’s promise happen.  Abraham would try to have that (promised) son through Hagar (Sarah’s handmaid).  It was a worldly solution to a spiritual problem, and it didn’t work. It brought disaster.

The flesh wars against the spirit!  My desires war against God’s will.  Paul is writing to those who are trying to be Godly, but doing so through physical means.  They were finding it difficult to completely step out of the world and rely totally on God.  They had too many friends in the world and they had many things they were doing in the world – just like many of today’s Christians.  But they found that they could not have it both ways.  They could either walk in the world or they could walk in the Spirit; but they could not walk in the world’s ways and be full of the Holy Spirit.

Just like Abraham and Sarah.  They were trying to figure out how God’s promise could be brought about by natural means.

I often do the same in my life?  For instance, when something “bad” happens in my life, I know that God wants me to immediately go to Him for help.  I know that I am supposed to fully rely on God.  But even knowing that, what do I do?

I  rush in and try to fix the problem by my own methods, while praying all the while for God to take care of it.  The dilemma I find myself in is that I try to pray in the Spirit, but act in the flesh: Just like Abraham and Sarah did.

Abraham believed that God’s promises were real, but he thought it was up to him to make it happen.  And I have that same struggle in my life today. I go to church; I sing the songs of praise; I pray for guidance and direction; I talk about faith; and then I leave the assembly and try to handle everything myself while praying for God to handle it for me.

I must not only believe in God’s promises, but trust Him to bring them about in His own timing and way.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    April 24, 2012 5:59 am

    I wish also that I could learn this lesson as well! Papa

Leave a Reply

