Skip to content

March 28 – Does It Really Matter What I Do?

March 28, 2012

“Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.  For he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting.”Gal 6:7-8

There is a temptation to try to take advantage of God’s mercy by claiming His willingness to forgive and to save me (no matter what I do), but it never works.  I deceive myself.  It does matter what I do in response to His mercy and favor He has on me.

Only as I have wholeheartedly “obeyed the form of doctrine” (or teaching) have I been set free from my sins.  In other words, I go through the very act that identifies me with His sacrifice: the pattern of the death, burial, and resurrection of Christ; i.e., baptism.  But, there is a strong verbage of expectation that I move forward and obey my Lord as I walk in this life.  God will not force Himself upon me; neither will He accept my works only.  What He wants is my heart, my soul, my life, my everything.  I must be wholeheartedly devoted in my commitment to Him.  Paul implies this strongly in:

“But God be thanked, that ye were the servants of sin, but ye have obeyed from the heart that form of doctrine which was delivered you.  Being then made free from sin, ye became the servants of righteousness.  I speak after the manner of men because of the infirmity of your flesh: for as ye have yielded your members servants to uncleanness and to iniquity unto iniquity; even so now yield your members servants to righteousness unto holiness.  For when ye were the servants of sin, ye were free from righteousness.  What fruit had ye then in those things whereof ye are now ashamed? for the end of those things is death.  But now being made free from sin, and become servants to God, ye have your fruit unto holiness, and the end everlasting life.  For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.” – Romans 6:17-23

I cannot/ must not continue in sin.  I must walk after righteousness.  God expects me to pursue Him and to walk after righteousness, not after the flesh.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2012 1:12 pm

    @”There is a temptation to try to take advantage of God’s mercy by claiming His willingness to forgive and to save me (no matter what I do)”

    yup… very true.

    those are the non genuine believers.

Trackbacks

  1. Bread, Seed, and Fruits. God will increase the fruits of your righteousness « bummyla

Leave a Reply

