Skip to content

March 27 – He Gives Grace To The Humble

March 27, 2012

“But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men…” – Phil 2:7

Grace:  by definition, we have so readily chalked it up to a catchy phrase like “the unmerited favor of God” found in the literal definition of the word.  I can barely grasp the concept of Grace.  It is a concept so profound and so large that no finite mind can fully comprehend it, nor can the human language fully explain it.  When I consider the enormity of the physical creation, and my own smallness in relation to its vastness, I am filled with awe and humility.  To think that the great God who spoke the universe into existence should take any particular notice of me is more than I can fathom.  But, like the passage above tells me, He wasn’t worried about his reputation; He willingly humbled Himself and took on this flesh.  To think that He came to earth to die upon a cross, so He might save helpless humanity, upon the basis of His mercy and grace, is simply astounding.

“For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God; Being justified freely by his grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus…”Rom 3:23-24

And yet, in 2 Cor. 5:19, when Jesus poured out His life for me, “… God was reconciling the world to himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and entrusting to us the message of reconciliation.” (RSV)

I just want to shout with Paul, who said in 2 Cor 9:15, “Thanks be unto God for his unspeakable gift.”

Grace means that God gives to willing recipients the Gift of Salvation, which could never be attained on their own merits.  The view that I can somehow pay in part for my redemption by earning my way denies the very nature of grace.  I cannot pay anything, I have no assets with which to pay.  I can only accept or reject what has been done for me: and that makes a problem for my human pride.  NOTE: God doesn’t force it on me, I must accept it.

To save mankind, it was necessary for Christ to humble himself and take on the nature of a servant (as we read above).  You know what?  Before I can receive that salvation, I, too, must humble myself in order for grace to reach me.  If I try to achieve grace by good works, I fail.  Rom. 11:6 says “grace would no longer be grace.”

“… God resisteth the proud, but giveth grace unto the humble.” – James 4:6

“…all of you be subject one to another, and be clothed with humility: for God resisteth the proud, and giveth grace to the humble.” – 1 Pet. 5:5

This principle is true in all aspects of my service to the Lord.  The prideful heart cannot come into His presence.  Only the humble experience His grace.  I am ready, Lord. 

Leave a Reply

