Skip to content

March 25 – I Need To Be Like The Bereans

March 25, 2012

“These were more noble than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness of mind, and searched the scriptures daily, whether those things were so.” – Act_17:11 

I had it figured for many years that I was okay; I was saved, I was protected simply because I had been baptized.  Oh, really?  That’s all there is to it?  NO!  I am afraid I had been so misled (although not intentionally) for most of my life as to how God’s grace plays its role in my salvation.  I have acted as though grace had very little to do with it, and was more centered on the single act of baptism alone.  I’m not saying others see it this way, I’m just stating my experience.  Do I believe baptism is an essential part of God’s plan of salvation? Yes, I do.  I know some will disagree with me, but please hear me out.  What about repentance?  What about faith?  What about Grace?  The problem was, I relied on the preachers of old who cut this course for me to take, and didn’t study for myself.  Frankly, this is what has led to so much division among protestants and denominations over the last couple of centuries.  Folks have listened to and trusted the preacher instead of opening the Word of God for themselves.  Don’t get me wrong, I am not opposed to preachers.  We need preachers.  But Acts 17 (above) reveals a spirit that should be found within my heart:  I should be a seeker of Truth.  I should listen, compare it to the Word, and accept it only as it agrees with what God has revealed in the Bible.

Now I know I have started out a little bold and blunt, but this must sink deep into my heart.  If I rely only on what I hear from the pulpit, or any other single source, I am risking my soul.  Why would I do that?  If I rely only on my think-so, I am doomed for eternal justice.  If I do not turn to God’s Word and depend upon it, no matter what I’ve been taught in the past, I am saying “no thank you” to the greatest blessings God has revealed to me:  His mercy, grace and love that He offered to all of mankind.

I think I shall take a closer look at God’s grace in the coming days.  For me to walk closely with my Lord is to study His teachings to me, and to submit to His will (whether I like it or not).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

