Skip to content

March 23 – Am I Leaving A Legacy?

March 23, 2012

“For I know him, that he will command his children and his household after him, and they shall keep the way of the LORD, to do justice and judgment…” Gen 18:19

I want to sum up my thoughts on raising children with the following observations.  If I do not care whether they follow God or not; if I do not care what happens to them in the future; if I am not concerned about a legacy to follow me, then the following is what I should do:

  1. Never let my children see me read the Bible and never read with them.
  2. Never practice what I preach.
  3. Never let them see or hear me pray and never pray with them.
  4. Never let them see my mistakes, never admit I am wrong, and never ask for forgiveness.
  5. Never discipline my kids, don’t give them limitations, and let them have free expression of “their” will at all times.
  6. Don’t put God first in everything I do.  Let other activities occupy most of my time and focus.
  7. Don’t make church attendance and church activities a priority in my family.  Any “good” excuse will do for not attending.
  8. Immerse my family in all manner of worldly entertainment, sports and music programs.  Make sure the kids appreciate trivial things in life.
  9. Never have open and honest communication with them.
  10. Let the church assume the responsibility of teaching them about spiritual things and salvation.

Does this sound like a good recipe for raising children? Of course, not.  Then why do so many approach it like this?

Nowhere in the Bible does it say that parents should turn the responsibility to raise, teach and disciple our children over to the church or anybody else.  He has always laid it on the parents, and particularly, the fathers.  It was, and is, the duty, honor and privilege of the parents.  God has left it to me to know what they are learning and what they are believing; and I will answer to God for it.

The Bible, starting with what God spoke to Abraham (Genesis 18:19, above) carrying on through God’s instructions to the Israelites (Deut. 6) and moving right up to Paul’s directions to Christian parents (Eph. 6:4), gives the task of raising godly children to parents.

“And these words, which I command thee this day, shall be in thine heart:  And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.” Deu 6:6 -7 

“And, ye fathers, provoke not your children to wrath: but bring them up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord.”Eph 6:4

I will follow you, Lord; and I dedicate my children to Your service.

Leave a Reply

