Skip to content

March 22 – I Stand Today So My Children Will Not Fall Tomorrow

March 22, 2012

“Obey them that have the rule over you, and submit yourselves: for they watch for your souls, as they that must give account, that they may do it with joy, and not with grief: for that is unprofitable for you.” Heb 13:17 

With an ever-decreasing morality in our culture, I’m deeply concerned about my children’s future; particularly the specific things they will be forced to deal with.  I do not know how bad it will get, but I see nothing indicating this ship will be turned around.  With that in mind, they will be drawn into the debates on morality and tolerance, as well as the pressure to keep their faith quiet.

How will they stand if I do not show them today?  If I do not teach them clearly the doctrines of Jesus and His church (not just my opinion, but straight from the scriptures) proactively, they will be doomed to accept less than the Truth regarding these issues.  If they are not taught today, they will be ignorant tomorrow.  If I don’t stand today, they will fall tomorrow.  One of the things they need to view appropriately is respect for others in the church and its leadership.

One of the blessing we have been given in the church is its leaders.  I should be setting a great example to my children by praising and supporting those who serve me so faithfully.  I should never criticize fellow church members or the leadership in front of them, much less at all.

If I criticize my elders (or others) in front of my kids, I shouldn’t be surprised when they refuse to obey authority and refuse to consider church an important part of their life.  As the above verse states, “it will be unprofitable for me.”  It will discourage them.  I need to show them discipline with my tongue, my attitude and my actions.  They will see through the mask.  I may say one thing or show myself one way in front of them, but I will be unable to hide my negativity toward those in authority – they will see it eventually.

“Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers.” Eph 4:29

The hearers in the context of our subject: my children.

Lord, give me strength to lead my children; not hiding from the sinful culture, but walking through it, that they might learn how to fight against it, and lead others out of it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2012 12:46 am

    Lovely post covering with great info , I always like that post which provide valuable info like your post so thanks for shared this post with us Buy Baby Products

  2. laurie Huntley permalink
    March 22, 2012 1:20 am

    Leland, I think this is also true of our actions that we do “in Jest”. To kid around is ok, but the remarks followed by a “just kidding” can be damaging. Or the rolling of the eyes, in response to something someone brought in a sermon,………..again……… for the fourth time………… Not showing the proper respect will certainly walk on its own, as the years move along!

    • March 22, 2012 6:47 am

      Absolutely. these things matter beyond what we generally think. thanks for sharing.

  3. Lowell R. Price permalink
    April 12, 2012 3:10 pm

    This is so true in any facet of life, the phoney will always sooner or later show itself for what it is. NOTHING! Papa

Leave a Reply

