Skip to content

March 21 – Lose My Children? Not On My Watch!

March 21, 2012

“If ye then be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ sitteth on the right hand of God.  Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth.” – Col 3:1-2

I’m still speaking of raising children, and will for the next few days.  At the risk of sounding arrogant (and that is not at all my heart),  I look around and see many, many children leave the faith, go their own ways, rebel against what they were taught; even to the extent of losing faith in God altogether.  This just breaks my heart, as I am sure it does their parents.

What I am about to say is not aimed toward any specific individuals or families, or otherwise intended to offend.  In fact, I suppose if you have been through this, you should be the loudest to scream this to young parents who struggle doing the things they should do for their children to preserve their faith in an ever-growing faithless society.  Trust me when I say, my heart aches at the thought of children walking away from God and from the teachings of the Bible.

Personally, if I do not wake up and take this job (parenting) seriously, I will lose my children also.  I cannot aimlessly walk through life as if it is just something that everybody does… like a herd of sheep.  I go to sleep, wake up, go to work, come home, watch T.V., then go to sleep, wake up, go to work, etc., etc., etc. Isn’t there more to life than this? Yes, there is.  If I do not bring my focus and priorities into check, I could spend my later years trying to help my kids who are strung out on drugs; I could spend all my time paying fines, attorney fees, etc. trying to keep them out of jail; at the very least, I will probably spend my time worrying about them because of the choices they are making in life.  Why?  Because I did almost nothing to help them with what really mattered; things like, responsibility, spiritual maturity, ethics, morals, values, a reverence for God and respect for the Bible. (But he sure is good at basketball; or she sure can sing- won all those competitions and got that scholarship!)  What have I gained?  More importantly, what have they really gained?

If I want to lose my children, I should just let the T.V. do the babysitting, the school play a greater role in influencing them than I do, and let them spend all of their spare time with their friends instead of with me.  If I do not realize the impact these things will have on my children, then I am risking my one shot at molding their hearts and raising them under the tutelage of the Lord.  Worldly influence (Satan) has claimed so many of our children, it is frightening.  I say, “Not on my watch!”

God has given me a job to do and I need to get serious about it.  Note to self: “Quit spending all my time watching the news, working, watching football and basketball games, doing hobbies, playing with my iPad, smart phone or the newest, latest techie gadget out there, or any other activity that takes me away from time with my children.  Leland, quit being obsessed with the latest and newest technological invention that really doesn’t matter when this life is over.  Wake up, I need to lead my family.  I must be wise and know my enemy; and be willing to be the “point man” leading them through this jungle called, life.  The time is now, not tomorrow.  Tomorrow never comes, I have only today!  I will look into my children’s eyes for a few moments… no really, longer; and take a look at each one of them.  I will see them for who they are.  I will know them and understand them.  I will then do everything in my power to train them in the way that is right for them to go in this life.  Because, the direction they go in this life is directly proportional to where they will spend eternity.”

“But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” – Matthew 6:33 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

