Skip to content

March 20 – Am I Setting My Children Up For Failure?

March 20, 2012

“Submitting yourselves one to another in the fear of God.  Wives, submit yourselves unto your own husbands, as unto the Lord.  So ought men to love their wives as their own bodies. He that loveth his wife loveth himself.” Eph 5:21 -23

One of the most devastating things I can do to my children is to never show affection toward my wife in front of them.  When I am constantly treating her in an unloving way; or when I am choosing to argue with her in front of the children, I am setting them up for failure in future relationships.  I am showing to them that preservation of self is more important than serving others.

I’m not saying they should never see us disagree, but it should be minimized.  They need to see us serving each other and showing our love to each other.  If they do see disagreements, it is paramount that they see us handle them in appropriate and godly ways; that they see us repent and forgive one another.  Then they learn lessons about reconciliation, which is the ultimate message of the cross.

“Wives, submit yourselves unto your own husbands, as it is fit in the Lord.  Husbands, love your wives, and be not bitter against them.” Col 3:18-19

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2012 12:55 pm

    I nominated you for the Awesome Blog Content Award. Thank you for sharing your inspirational writing with us with your awesome blog! ♥ Angi

    You can find details about the award here: http://akissofbliss.wordpress.com/2012/03/19/abc-award/

  2. Lowell R. Price permalink
    April 12, 2012 3:01 pm

    A great message!! Thanks Papa

Leave a Reply

