Skip to content

March 19 – Do I Discourage My Children?

March 19, 2012

“Fathers, provoke not your children to anger, lest they be discouraged.” Col 3:21 

If I want to assure that my children walk away from the principles I have tried to instill in them; If I want them to question the beliefs I have regarding Christianity; If I do not care about the direction they are going in life; all I have to do is ridicule, belittle, and make them feel unimportant.  Tell them enough, and they will believe it about themselves.

“You dumb thing; you can’t do anything right; why don’t you get out-of-the-way and let me do that.”  Phrases that hurt.  Not just in the moment, but for a lifetime.  These type of comments toward children (unless God intervenes) will completely beat them up emotionally and spiritually.  They will then grow up with an inferiority complex the size of a mountain because I have basically mocked their very existence.

I am not saying to not instruct, correct, scold, and even punish them for wrong-doing.  But what I am saying is that as I walk as a Christian father and strive to walk in obedience to God, this verse is paramount in my life.

Jesus said they are my examples…  and I best not offend them!

“And said, Verily I say unto you, Except ye be converted, and become as little children, ye shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven. Whosoever therefore shall humble himself as this little child, the same is greatest in the kingdom of heaven.  And whoso shall receive one such little child in my name receiveth me.  But whoso shall offend one of these little ones which believe in me, it were better for him that a millstone were hanged about his neck, and that he were drowned in the depth of the sea.” Mat 18:3

May I always remember that children are a gift from God, and that they are my example.  May I handle them with care.  Even in discipline, may I never speak words that denigrate and demean, ridicule and mock.  May my words be those which instruct, gently correct, and positively encourage to aspire to higher values and morals.  May I never discourage them from being everything God desires for them to be.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    April 12, 2012 2:58 pm

    I love this, all children need to know that!! that their parents have these thoughts about them, and like you say your attitude shows through to them loud and clear. Papa

Leave a Reply

