Skip to content

March 18 – Children Are A Blessing

March 18, 2012

One sure way to lose my children is to consider and treat them as a burden, a blight, a curse, a robber of my time and pleasure.

My children know how I feel toward them and react toward me in the same manner I treat them. Even as a baby, he knows whether I love him or not.  I am daily programing into their hearts that they are precious to me, or in my way; that time with them is important to me, or it is not; that they are a blessing to be around, or a lot of trouble; that I don’t value them in a relationship, or I do.  Wake up, Leland!  When they get to be teenagers, all of the love and adoration they have for me will show through, or, all of the resentment will come pouring out. One way or the other, the fruit of my labor (or lack thereof) will show forth.

I must consider my children “an heritage from the Lord” and “his reward” (Psalm 127:3), because they will live and act like what I have taught them by my attitude toward them. If I believe they are the joy of my life, that is the way they will live.

Truly, I love all of my kids.  Here’s what is interesting… Kids were given to me to teach, to raise, to inspire to follow after God.  The thing is, I think I have learned more from them.  God, You knew best.  Thank you for giving them to me so I could learn more about your love for Your children.  I will never measure up, but they will know my heart like I know Yours.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2012 8:13 am

    Reblogged this on Stefani Carmichael and commented:
    I enjoyed this post by fellow blogger Leland Fleming, and I hope you will as well. Do you consider your children to be a blessing to you?

    • DeeAnn Smith permalink
      March 21, 2012 2:45 pm

      When my children were small I loved playing with them and reading books to them. I was a “hands-on” mama. Now they are both grown with children of their own and I am so proud of both of them. They are both wonderful, loving parents to their sons and I am proud of the young adults they have become. They have both been, and continue to be a blessing to me and have truly been a joy in my life!

  2. Lowell R. Price permalink
    April 12, 2012 2:52 pm

    I know that as my great grand children and my great, great grand children that they are the tonic of my life, and I so look forward to seeing them all in Heaven one day. Papa

Trackbacks

  1. The Big 3 In Raising Children « Hearts That Care

Leave a Reply

